Consume 2[credit]

Program: Virus
Memory: 0 • Strength: -
Influence: 5

Whenever you trash a Corp card, you may place 1 virus counter on Consume.

[click]: Gain 2[credit] for each hosted virus counter, then remove all virus counters from Consume.

"It 'ate' the vertex grid?! What does that even mean?"
- Nkiru Qiƫ, Asa Group sysop
Illustrated by Pavel Kolomeyets
Decklists with this card

The Devil and the Dragon (tdatd)

#68 • English
Startup Card Pool
Standard Card Pool
Standard Ban List (show history)
  • Updated 2024-03-15

    ANCUR UFAQ 22 [Michael Boggs]

    If the Runner has both Consume and Hivemind installed, each with 2 virus counters hosted on them, what happens when the Runner uses Consume?

    The Runner gains 8 and removes all four virus counters from both Consume and Hivemind.

    If the Runner plays Apocalypse while Consume is installed, does Consume gain virus counters before being flipped facedown?

    Yes. The virus counters then remain hosted on the facedown Consume until the Corp purges, the counters are removed by a card ability, or the facedown Consume becomes uninstalled.


This card shines with Friday Chip in Anarch, netting you 2 credits per card per trash, (up to 12):

Knobkierie and Imp will trigger them most runs.

Trypano, Hippo, and other ice trashing.

Gravedigger makes every install trash give you clicks for mills.

(Uprising Booster Pack era)

So, according to the FAQ on Consume, if you play an apocalypse with Consume in play, it gains virus counters for each card trashed by the Apocalypse. Meaning that you could on a later turn, install asimilator click 1, flip consume face up with asimilator clicks 2 and 3, and activate consumes ability click 4, cashing in on 2 credits for every corp card trashed. You would then be crowned the in faction jank lord and be the envy of sentient digital entities far and wide for pulling 20-30 credits in one turn. AAAAAPPPEEEEXXXX!