Mu Safecracker

♦ Mu Safecracker 2[credit]

Influence: 3

Use this hardware only by spending credits from stealth cards.

Whenever you make a successful run on HQ, you may pay 1[credit] to access 1 additional card when you breach HQ.

Whenever you make a successful run on R&D, you may pay 2[credit] to access 1 additional card when you breach R&D.

Illustrated by Zoe Cohen
Decklists with this card

Uprising (ur)

#76 • English
Startup Card Pool
Standard Card Pool
Standard Ban List (show history)
  • Updated 2021-10-05

    NISEI Uprising Release Notes [NISEI Rules Team]

    Can the Runner spend 2[c] from stealth cards to access 2 additional cards from HQ with Mu Safecracker?

    No. Only one instance of a conditional ability becomes pending for each time the trigger condition is met. The Runner will only have 1 opportunity each run to trigger the pending ability and pay 1[c] to access 1 additional card from HQ.


Extremely difficult to justify given the great synergy between Stealth and The Turning Wheel, and the additional costs to use this. Shapers would be using it almost exclusively for HQ, but then why not just play HQ Interface if you need that effect? Or The Gauntlet? You'll save credits and influence. Criminals would be using it for R&D, but at 2 stealth credits per use, that gets extremely expensive very quickly, and Criminals don't get Net Mercur in faction, nor get to be Smoke (note that DJ Fenris doesn't gain the Stealth subtype even if he copies Smoke.)

So the only case I see this being used is in a Criminal Stealth deck with access to a huge surplus of stealth credits that can't afford influence for R&D Interface or any other R&D multiaccess for some reason. But then they're probably spending a bunch of influence on stealth credit sources, and they could shift some influence away from stealth credits toward R&D multiaccess. One R&D Interface or two The Turning Wheels would likely be enough.

With the additional costs and the 3 influence requirement, I don't think this is playable.

(Uprising era)

I mostly agree with this - I would say the one exception would be in a stealth Leela build where just that one extra access can have a significant effect.

Good analysis and I agree completely

If you're running Psych Mike, I could see it being used in conjunction with that, especially with multi R&D Access.

I think the point of this card is in startup format, where things like The Turning Wheel and HQ Interface are not available