♦ RNG Key 0[credit]

Memory: 1 • Strength: -
Influence: 0

The first time you make a successful run on HQ or R&D each turn, you may name a number. If you do, reveal the next card that you access this run. If it has a rez cost, play cost, or advancement requirement equal to the named number, either gain 3[credit] or draw 2 cards.

Between nothing and infinity.
Illustrated by Andreas Zafiratos
Decklists with this card

Down the White Nile (dtwn)

#29 • English
Startup Card Pool
Standard Card Pool
Standard Ban List (show history)
  • Updated 2024-03-29

    ANCUR UFAQ 20 [Michael Boggs]

    Does RNG Key trigger once for the first successful run on each of HQ and R&D, or does it trigger once the first time the Runner makes a successful run on either HQ or R&D?

    RNG Key triggers a maximum of once per turn, when the Runner makes a successful run on either HQ or R&D.


What an interesting program. Gaining 3 or 2 cards while doing something you were going to do anything is very welcome. This effect is good enough that you might consider throwing this card into any deck in which you have some free MU/deck space. You won't guess right often, but if you guess right at least twice during the course of the game, I think the slot was worth it. It is free to install after all.

So how often will you guess correctly? Most corporate operations cost between 0 and 5 to play. Most agendas cost between 2 and 5 to advance. Rez cost varies between 0 and 15 but typically will be between 0 and 8. So I'd tend to name a number between 2 and 5. Hopefully you'll get it right a couple times a game.

This card of course shines in conjunction with a couple other cards. If you know what you are going to access then you are good to go. You almost never know what you will access from HQ, but there are ways to gain insight into R&D. RNG Key will likely be an auto include in Adam decks to complement his Find the Truth directive (on further consideration, this will work as long as the first run isn't against HQ). Sunny too will enjoy this program in conjunction with Globalsec Security Clearance. And Geist usually has memory to spare. So this works nicely with his Spy Cameras. 3 or 2 cards 5, 6, or more times per game is pretty insane. I'm looking forward to trying it out!

(Down the White Nile era)
Would't Find the Truth be awkward? You see the top of RND after a successful run, but you can't run HQ because of then RNG Key would trigger, so you would *have* to run archives or a remote the way I read it? —
@zmb Find the Truth and RNG Key trigger simultaneously, so runner choses which one resolves first. Also Equivocation can do that trick. —
Guessing 5 is an ok way to not get killed trying to steal Okabata Protocol —
Also, if there’s a rezzed upgrade in the root of R&D or HQ (or an unrezzed one you’ve seen before) you can access it first to make this trigger. —
Both solid points @benhosp —
Just a note to clarify that "only uninstalled cards can be revealed" (from the rulebook). So alas, no farming of a rezzed upgrade to get guaranteed triggers. —
@behosp I don’t think the upgrades work for this; according to the rules reference, pg. 20, “only uninstalled cards can be revealed.” —
@syntaxbad jinx —
Oops! Turns out we were wrong. Calling an installed upgrade works because "reveal" is part of the effect, not the trigger condition. (See Aeneas Informant rulings). So the game just fails to resolve the reveal part of the effect, but still checks the rez cost for a match and pays out if it matches. Damn that' a fine card. —
This sounds like a good way to avoid flatlining yourself on a snare. Two extra cards to tank the damage —