Hernando Cortez

♦ Hernando Cortez 2[credit]

Resource: Connection
Influence: 1

If the Corp has at least 10[credit], as an additional cost to rez each piece of ice, the Corp must spend credits equal to the number of subroutines on that ice.

"Take it from me, there is a point where you have so much money you stop caring. That's usually right before it all comes tumbling down."
Illustrated by Timur Shevtsov
Decklists with this card

23 Seconds (23s)

#4 • English
Startup Card Pool
Standard Card Pool
Standard Ban List (show history)
23 Seconds
  • Updated 2024-05-17

    UFAQ [Damon Stone]

    If a piece of ice will gain a subroutine from an effect like Sensei or Komainu, does that subroutine factor into the additional cost for Hernando Cortez as well?

    No. Those effects cause the next piece of ice encountered to gain a subroutine, but ice is rezzed during the approach.

    How many credits is the additional cost incurred for rezzing a piece of ice with flexible subroutines while Hernando Cortez's ability is active (such as NEXT Silver, Ashigaru, Tour Guide, etc.)?

    The abilities that cause these pieces of ice to gain/lose subroutines are only active once the pieces of ice have been successfully rezzed. Because costs are always paid before the rez, Hernando Cortez will not add an additional cost to these pieces of ice.


Easily the Answer to Sandburg the designer of the Cortez Chip makes it even more fun for the Corp to rez ICE. Want that Ichi 1.0 up? Thats a 7 credit cost. Want to get up the NEXT Silver up with 2 other NEXT ICE online? thats now 5 credits... Its essentially forces any Corp to make sure they have 2-4 credits more to protect servers and makes the corps math go out the window. Excellent card.

(23 Seconds era)
I *could* be wrong, but I don't think this card affects NEXT Silver, as the rez cost is determined when the card is inactive, and while inactive, NEXT Silver would have 0 subroutines. —
I agree Lynx. And Ichi would cost 8 not 7. —
Plus the Cortez Chip wasnt designed by Hernando Cortez, the chip fluff clearly says, named after :) —
@Lynx, I don't think that is correct otherwise none of the constellation ice (Wormhole, Orion, etc) would work. —
I doubt the FAQ will have been updated for this one yet but I'd put even money that the card only counts the number of printed carriage returns on the ice itself when counting subroutines. That makes the Next suite actually pretty effective against him since they're getting all those extra routines for free. —