Self-destruct 2[credit]

Trash: 0
Influence: 0

Remote server only.

[trash]: Trash all cards installed in the root of or protecting this server. Trace[X], where X is equal to the number of cards trashed. If successful, do 3 net damage. Use this ability only during a run on this server.

Illustrated by Alexandr Elichev
Decklists with this card

The Source (ts)

#112 • English
Startup Card Pool
Standard Card Pool
Standard Ban List (show history)
The Source
  • Updated 2017-04-09

    Self-Destruct does not count itself as one of the cards trashed in order to establish the trace value. [Official FAQ]


I find it amusing that although this card is called "Self-destruct," it will probably most-often be used more like an escape pod. Director Haas, Chairman Hiro, The Board, and whatever card completes the cycle when NBN gets a big box... they will all love using this card as a safety net to make sure they're never trashed while being accessed. The fact that it might also do some net damage is just a bonus.

I guess if you think of trashing the server as literally just destroying the data (which is what it really is), it makes sense that all the top executives will make sure they can quickly wipe their sensitive data in case of an intrusion. Director Haas is never going to let you have access to her personnel file, even if it means destroying it to keep you away.

(The Source era)
I do not recommend The Board. —

If you want trolling, install self-destruct and advanced agenda(or ronin) together. When runner pass inner most ice, trigger it! Use jackson. But I recommend you use this card with director haas or chairman hiro.

(All That Remains era)
3 net damages are powerful. Combo with data mine, House of knives or some net damage sources. —

I'm pretty sure that this card cannot combo with Edge of World. The EoW trigger is on access , so there is no paid ability window to use Self Destruct.

If you try and use self destruct before access (which is the last time you have a chance to do it) , either the edge of world or the ice protecting the server would be gone. Therefore , edge would either proc for zero , or be trashed to the self destruct.

(All That Remains era)
what jumped to mind for me with this is to put a Checkpoint in front of it. 3 damage before deciding to access and then 3 more when I self destruct the server. whatever you're protecting just became a fatal trap. makes me want to loaf up on Mandatory Upgrades. —
Checkpoint doesn't work either. Once all ice is passed, the runner approaches the server and decides whether or not it's successful. You CAN use paid abilities before this choice is made. But once the run is successful, you cannot. So it's impossible to use a paid ability in response to a run being successful. —
Definitely won't work with other traps unfortunately: they trigger when accessed, this has to be triggered just before access. Runner accesses cards at 4.5 on the flowchart in the rulebook, last window to use card abilities is 4.3. Don't know about Checkpoint, but my guess is it won't work: the run is considered to be successful at step 4.4 on the flowchart, and since this would trigger at 4.3 and destroy the server and trash every card, there's no way the run can still be considered successful if the server doesn't exist anymore, right? —
You can combo it with Checkpoint, but only if there is a rezed Architect protecting the server. My understanding is that Checkpoint deals damage even if it gets trashed, so all you need to do is make sure the server still exists. The only way to do that is to install and rez an Architect. —
Could you combo it with Thomas Hass - trash tommy for the creds you need to make the trace work and then blow the server? —

Yeah, using this with an executive seems like a good safety net. Director Haas sitting on a bomb handing out free clicks might be worth the risk of her getting trashed before installed.

If you have deep pockets to pay for both a trace and to trigger Edge of World, it also might combo well and some throw away ice.

(All That Remains era)