Code Replicator

Code Replicator 2[credit]

Trash: 2
Influence: 2

Whenever the Runner passes a rezzed piece of ice protecting this server, you may trash this upgrade. If you do, the Runner must approach that ice again. They may jack out.

for (;;)
Illustrated by Caravan Studio
Decklists with this card

Council of the Crest (cotc)

#52 • English
Startup Card Pool
Standard Card Pool
Standard Ban List (show history)
  • Updated 2024-03-29

    ANCUR UFAQ 21 [Michael Boggs]

    If the Corp uses Code Replicator to force the Runner to approach the outermost piece of ice a second time, is the Runner still prohibited from jacking out?

    No. The Runner is only disallowed from jacking out the first time they approach a piece of ice in a run. This rule is not tied to any specific piece of ice.


This card is basically just to tax the runner a bit more, preferably with an expensive piece of ice. If a breaker like Gordian Blade is breaking a DNA Tracker, then it would cost the runner 7 credits. Subtracting the card's rez cost equals a credit advantage of 5 credits in that scenario, better than a Hedge Fund, which gives a 4 credit advantage.

One synergy to mention is Komainu, which does not lose its subs until the run ends.

(NAPD Multiplayer era)
While the synergy with Komainu is notable, it will never lead to a flatline as the Runner is given the opportunity to jack out after Code Replicator fires. In addition, that means Code Replicator must be pre-rezzed (so that it triggers on-pass) losing a bit of its surprise factor. While this takes away from its ability to be a menacing kill option, it's a very strong taxer as you mentioned. —
However, I'd suggest you compare it to a similar-gameplan upgrade next time rather than Hedge Fund. Comparing Code Replicator to Marcus Batty/Bio Vault/Embolus would be more appropriate. —
You are right. An even better comparison would be Red Herrings. —
I will edit it, eventually —