Pawn 0[credit]

Program: Caïssa - Trojan
Memory: 0 • Strength: -
Influence: 1

[click]: Host this program on the outermost piece of ice protecting a central server.

Whenever you make a successful run while this program is hosted on a piece of ice, host it on the next inward piece of ice. If you cannot, trash this program and install 1 other Caïssa program from your grip or heap, ignoring all costs.

Illustrated by Liiga Smilshkalne
Decklists with this card

Opening Moves (om)

#2 • English
Startup Card Pool
Standard Card Pool
Standard Ban List (show history)
Opening Moves
  • Updated 2017-04-09

    Pawn can move onto a piece of ice hosting another caïssa, but other caïssa programs cannot move onto a piece of ice hosting Pawn. [Official FAQ]

  • Updated 2017-04-09

    The Runner cannot choose the Pawn that is being trashed as the program to install with Pawn because the trash and install are part of the same effect. [Official FAQ]


According to the FAQ 2.2, Pawn Should read: “Whenever you make a successful run while Pawn is hosted on a piece of ice, move Pawn to the piece of ice directly after the current ice hosting Pawn, if able..."

(The Universe of Tomorrow era)
Surely that's implied by the "after the current ice hosting Pawn" bit? —
A straightforward (but obviously unintended) interpretation is that an unhosted Pawn fails the 'if able' check and pops a new Caïssa. —
I'm confused, why does faq version 2.2 call for this distinction? Pawn was already able to be hosted on other cards (scher) and then moved onto ice. The new faq changes the rules for other Caissa, but not pawn. If anything, the extra text you mention should have been on the card since it was introduced. —
What difference does it make which piece of ice Pawn is hosted on? The only benefit I can see is that it helps get other Caissa programs installed after a successful run. Can someone provide a review that describes how the strategy this card facilitates actually works? —

I'm responding to a 7-year-old comment here, but what the heck. The issue with the card as written, if I understand it, was that when you installed Pawn, it was unhosted. Because the "successful run" trigger as written didn't require Pawn to be hosted on a piece of ice, the ability would still trigger if Pawn was unhosted. You wouldn't be able to move Pawn to the next innermost ice, so the "if you cannot" part of the trigger would fire. You'd get the Cäissa fetch as if you'd marched Pawn all the way through your opponent's ice, but without doing the hard work. I assume the idea was your Pawn could be "promoted" to another Cäissa after reaching your opponent's side of the board (evoking pawns in chess), but the ability as written allowed you to bypass that entirely by never hosting Pawn.

I agree with StaticSky. Pawn is installed in your rig, thus not hosted on a piece of ice. The click ability then becomes available. But if you never used that click ability, you would have to trigger the "otherwise" clause after a successful run. Thus it's a hack of sorts without the errata.