Thimblerig 2[credit]

Ice: Code Gate
Strength: 0
Influence: ○○○○

When your turn begins and whenever the Runner passes this ice, you may swap this ice with another installed piece of ice.

subroutine End the run.

Step right up!
Illustrated by Adam S. Doyle
Decklists with this card

Reign and Reverie (rar)

#39 • English
Startup Card Pool
Standard Card Pool
Standard Ban List (show history)
  • ANCUR UFAQ 24 [Michael Boggs]

    If the Runner uses Inversificator to swap Thimblerig in for another piece of ice, can the Corp then swap Thimblerig away with another piece of ice?

    No. Thimblerig was not the ice installed in the position the Runner is passing at the time that the pass occurred.

    If the Runner passes Thimblerig, then Corp swaps it with a Kakugo, does the Runner suffer 1 net damage?

    No. Kakugo was not the ice in the position being passed at the time that its trigger condition would have been met.

    If the Runner passes a Thimblerig protecting a Code Replicator, what happens if the Corp uses Code Replicator first? What about if they use Thimblerig first?

    Using either ability invalidates the other ability’s trigger condition, thus causing the second ability to fail to resolve. If the Corp uses Code Replicator to force the Runner to approach Thimblerig, then the Runner is no longer passing Thimblerig. If the Corp uses Thimblerig to swap it with another ice, then the Thimblerig is no longer the ice being passed.


Weird ability aside, this will be the closest we get to a Quandary replacement. Yes, it’s no longer neutral and costs 1 more influence and credit but cheap gearcheck code gates are a much-welcomed addition given that NEXT Bronze is gone too and the next cheapest normal ETR code gate is Enigma.

First things first, this doesn’t work with Mti Mwekundu: Life Improved since Thimblerig's condition will trigger on-pass while Mti triggers on-server-approach.

Next, this also does not work with Code Replicator for the same reasons as Mumbad City Grid + The Twins. Check the MCG UFAQ on the ruling.

HOWEVER, the jank combos with Rover Algorithm are endless and can get out of hand off only a few runs. I, for one, am delighted that this good dog can learn a new trick.

(Reign and Reverie era)
Actually, the MCG/Twins rulings don't state that it doesn't work, just that you have to trigger them in the correct order. If you trigger Twins first, you have to deal with the ice again, then you can trigger MCG to swap ice. Given, how that server was constructed the second Twins question, there's no reason to expect MCG doing anything different than the answer clarifies. —

Thimblerigs "weird ability" is actually quite something, if you think about it more carefully! Even with one piece of this ICE rezzed, you can start swapping it around to bring your other ICE in better positions. A common situation for the corp is that their taxing or positional ICE (DNA Tracker, Data Raven, Inazuma (anyone?!) [...]) is before their ICE, that's purpose is to stop the runner (Data Ward, Kakugo, Tollbooth, Fairchild 3.0, [...]).

Now in order to position your ICE correctly you can only transpose two pieces of ICE if you include Thimblerig, i.e. for two pieces of ICE (independent of Thimblerig) it normally takes you three transpositions and so on. It seems slightly slow, but Thimblerig itself has End the run, which pairs nicely with bringing taxing ICE in position. Also two pieces of Thimblerig accelerate the process quickly (you can do the math).

What else to say? It should be mentioned that Runners who play a decoder, with which breaking a subroutine costs more than 1 (especially you Black Orchestra!) can get pretty mad at this card. Especially if the Corp force a "Reversed-Surfer" style slide letting the Runner encounter Thimblerig again and again.

Give it a shot, it is a great piece ICE and makes glacier style decks much more flexible and thanks to its low influence it is easy to splash!

(Reign and Reverie era)