Tempus

Tempus 0[credit]

Upgrade: Ambush
Trash: 0
Influence: ●●●○○

If Tempus is accessed from R&D, the Runner must reveal it.

When the Runner accesses Tempus, trace [3]– If successful, the Runner must lose clickclick or suffer 1 brain damage. Ignore this ability if the Runner accesses Tempus from Archives.

Illustrated by Liiga Smilshkalne
Decklists with this card

The Devil and the Dragon (tdatd)

#71 • English
Startup Card Pool
Standard Card Pool
Standard Ban List (show history)
Rulings
  • ANCUR UFAQ 22 [Michael Boggs]

    If the Runner has only 1 left when the trace from Tempus is successful, can they choose to lose instead of taking the brain damage? What if the Runner has no remaining?

    The Runner must choose an option that can be fully resolved if there is an option that can be fully resolved. Suffering 1 brain damage is always possible, so if the Runner has fewer than 2 clicks remaining, they must choose to suffer the brain damage. Note that once the choice is made, prevent/avoid abilities can still be used to modify the results of that choice.

Reviews

A really, really bad card. Consider that, in many cases, this is essentially a blank card with a trash cost of 3: the runner just pays those 3 credits into a trace rather than for a printed trash cost. A 0/3 upgrade with no ability is unplayable. The only two cases in which this card would seem to do anything are as follows: 1) The runner has fewer than 3 credits when they access it -- possible, but unlikely. In this case they can spend 2 clicks or take a brain damage, which is like a mediocre encounter with a piece of Bioroid ice. 2) The corp has enough money to make the trace component relevant. Ok, then you have paid some number of credits to, once again, force the runner to spend clicks or take brain damage. The only thing that might look mildly appealing about this card is the words "brain damage" -- but if this simply said "the runner discards a random card," it would be even easier to take the tinted lenses off and realize that this card is no good.

About the only mildly exciting thing you can do with this card is put it in a remote server with Warroid Tracker and tempt the runner into spending more credits to trash it -- in which case, you've just built the world's worst Manegarm Skunkworks.

(System Update 2021 era)