Identity: G-Mod • Link: 1 • Deck: 45 • Influence: 15

: Search your stack for a non-virus program and install it, lowering its install cost by 1, then shuffle your stack. If that program is still installed when your turn ends, remove it from the game.

Shaper • Antonio De Luca • Down the White Nile 25
Links: Decklists | ANCUR
Kabonesa Wu: Netspace Thrillseeker
MWL Entries

No MWL Entries for this card.

  • ANCUR UFAQ 20 [Michael Boggs]

    If the Runner plays Scavenge to trash and reinstall the program installed with Kabonesa Wu, do they still have to remove that program from the game at the end of the turn?

    No. After the program is uninstalled, it is considered a new copy of that card.

    If the Runner uses Kabonesa Wu to find and install a Chameleon, what happens at the end of the turn?

    Both Chameleon's ability and the delayed conditional ability created by Wu meet their trigger conditions at the same time. Since the Runner controls both abilities, they can choose the order in which to trigger them. Once Chameleon is uninstalled by either ability, the other ability will not be able to find it anymore. Thus, the Runner can choose whether to add Chameleon to the grip or to remove it from the game.


Guaranteed Magnum Opus turn one? Yes please. I can think of the following scenarios:

  1. Get Mopus in your opening draw. Installing click one and clicking Mopus 3x lets you end the turn at 6

  2. Draw a Scavenge in your opening hand. Click 1, use the ID ability to tutor Mopus, install for 4, click 2 Scavenge it to permanently install it, clicks 3 & 4 get paid and end the turn at 5

  3. Draw neither a Scavenge or Mopus in your opening hand. Use her ability to tutor an SMC and install Mopus. If you have to click for 2 then you can end turn 1 at 2, if you have a Dirty Laundry/Easy Mark or Sure Gamble to play click one, you can end turn 1 at 5 or 6, respectively. This works out the same if you draw an SMC in your opening hand.

Assuming a 45 card deck with 3 Mopus and 3 Scavenge, you have around a 50% chance of hitting either scenario 1 or 2, (I think, it's been a while since I calculated probability). If you have 6 econ events you can play turn 1, then you have a similar chance of avoiding the 2 outcome of scenario 3.

(Down the White Nile era)
If you have 6 turn-one-playable econ events of any kind (Peace In Our Time and Sure Gamble?), 3 scavenge, and 1 Mopus, you have a >75% chance of not having the 2-credit outcome - there'd be 10 cards you can draw turn one that save you. (and even your worst outcome...) —
How about having Mopus and Scavenge in hand and Paperclip in deck? Tutor-Install Paperclip for 3, Scavenge Mopus for 1 —
@Sotek I'm really excited about the consistency with this ID. —
@Deo That's not a bad play either, you'd end the turn at 5 credits and have Paperclip ready to go in the heap. —
Unfortunately, the program is removed from play and does not go to the heap. I think chameleon and the bird breakers are better —
Silly me ignore my post —

So originally I, and others I believe, were excited about Kabonesa with Scavenge. This is actually not a very good interaction. If you want to install a Magnum Opus with this combo you will need the following: A Magnum in hand or your heap, Scavenge in your hand, and a Magnum in your stack. 1 to activate Kabonesa and install the Magnum, spending 4 - 1 to Scavenge and install the second Magnum. If you then use Magnum twice, you'll end your turn with the same number of s you started with. Whereas if you just install it directly from your hand, and then use it three times, you'll end up with one more credit than you started with. Same goes for installing high cost programs like Femme. You need the necessary cards in hand/heap/stack and you'll only save one versus hard installing it; this while spending an extra . So Scavenge isn't really a great card for her.


So apparently a single Scavenge can trash a program, and then reinstall the exact same copy of that program. And it isn't considered the same program. Seems a bit weird to me but that does change things. It is still more efficient to just hard install a program. The you save is worth more than the you save. But if all you have in your hand is a Scavenge, it is definitely nice to install any program and keep it. --

Chameleon is of course a nice interaction as it can avoid the "remove from game" clause. But this will only happen probably three times a game if you use three Chameleons. But that is about it. The only program I can think of that you only need for one turn is Cache, but that is not a valid target. So to me, her ability has significant limitations. But the ability to find that program you absolutely need right now and install in at a discount in one can save you the game sometimes.

Now there is one other interaction which seems to be pretty solid to me. Using Kabonesa with Brahman. Brahman will continually send your programs back to your stack where it is a pain to pick them up and reinstall them. Kabonesa will save you time and money so you can keep your Brahman fed. Using Brahman as your main breaker with a few cheap programs and The Personal Touch as backup might work quite well. Throw in a D4v1d too.


People have been going crazy using Kabonesa with Origami and Ekomind. Its a pretty cool concept and I plan to try it out. I wonder if anyone has tried her with Au Revoir. That is another card that is unbelievably good, if you can find all three of them early. I'm anxious to try this; stupid work :/

(Down the White Nile era)
I don't believe you have the interaction correct, as per the new FAQ. You only need a Magnum in your deck and a Scavenge in your hand to make the combo work. The efficiency comes from having this as a card ability, as you can pull out any program you want turn 1, given that you have scavenge in your hand. —
I'm certain you're getting the interaction wrong with Scavenge. You only need Scavenge turn 1 to fetch Magnum. You use Kabonesa's ability, grab Magnum for 4$, click twice for the money back, then Scavenge. It only asks you to trash an installed program (Magnum), then install one from the heap. So you get to keep it. —
As for Chameleon, it doesn't work for the same reason Citadel Sanctuary and Joshua B. doesn't work. Kabonesa's ability checks before Chameleon's, as far as I can tell, so it gets removed. —
I think (and others should feel free to correct me) that you have the Scavenge interaction misunderstood. As the UFAQ answers, you can Scavenge the same Mopus (or any program) that you can clicked for and Wu's RFG clause won't kick in at the end of the turn. This really ups how strong her ability is. —
The UFAQ above states that she works with Chameleon. And I realize you get to keep the Magnum if you use Scavenge. I'm saying it isn't worth it. It is more efficient to just hard install it. —
Okay, looking at the Scavenge FAQs-you can trash Magnum with Scavenge, then reinstall the exact same copy with Scavenge? That is weird to me that that would work. If so, it isn't as efficient, but you could at least install it turn 1 if you have a Scavenge. —
That's what makes her strong; who doesn't want to have a great chance at turn 1 Magnum? You fill the deck with Laguna and other utility while getting whatever resource you need at the time. Good thing you won't be able to include Levy in the same deck. :) —
It's funny, every time someone used Test Run/Scavenge, I assumed they had a second copy of the program in their hand. It is hard to tell on —

This review isn't an actual analysis - I believe the other reviews sum up Kabonesa's potential quite well.

What I do want to point out is the return of the "Panda Perpetrator" (yes, I just made that term up) we first saw in Record Reconstructor and then Data Breach and that we get to see again in the spoiled card Because I Can from Kitara's 4th datapack The Devil and the Dragon (will link when available).

What is the story behind Kabonesa and her animal alter-ego? Is it as black-and-white as NBN will make it out to be? And the most important question of all, when can we expect Princess Space Kitten???

(Down the White Nile era)
I believe it was first seen in the art of Record Reconstructor. —
Man that card is so bad I totally forgot. Thank you, I have edited accordingly! —
So one thing we know about the image is that it appears on worse version of other cards... —
As long as we are offering minor corrections to what is otherwise a very good review, I would point out that Kabonesa Wu's animal calling card is a civet, not a panda. —
Another fun Wu fact is, that we've seen Wu in flavour text on Lean and Mean (and on picture). Also on DareDevil and Network Exchange —
@Sanjay My mistake, that animal was not in my diction until today! Although I have to admit, "Civet Criminal" is a bit misleading for Ms. Wu haha —

Kabonesa Wu is literally wearing the cat on the coffee mug from Record Reconstructor. Okay...the eyes on the coffee mug are open, but still! Backstory flavor ideas? Have we finally gotten the Princess Space Kitten ID we've all been waiting for?!!!

(Down the White Nile era)