Identity: G-mod • Link: 0 • Deck: 45 • Influence: 15

The first time each turn that you make a successful run on HQ, you may choose 2 cards in your heap, if able. The Corp removes 1 from the game; the other is added to your grip.

Criminal • Adam Schumpert • Terminal Directive 1
All sets:
Links: Decklists | ANCUR
Steve Cambridge: Master Grifter
MWL Entries

No MWL Entries for this card.

Rulings
  • UFAQ [Michael Boggs]

    Can the Runner choose to look at the top card of R&D with Find the Truth before using Steve Cambridge?

    Yes. Both cards meet their trigger conditions at the same time, so the Runner chooses the order in which they trigger.

    If the Runner returns Utopia Shard to their grip with Steve Cambridge, can they then install Utopia Shard?

    No. In order for Utopia Shard to install itself with its ability, it must already be in the Runner’s grip at the time it would meet its trigger condition.

    If the Runner, playing as Steve Cambridge, plays an Account Siphon, can they choose that copy of Account Siphon as one of the cards for Steve’s ability?

    No. An event that initiates a run is not considered fully resolved until that run is complete, and thus is not trashed until afterward.

Reviews

I'm actually surprised Steve has no reviews. Guess I'll be the first to comment on how powerful he is.

Before he got rotated out, Steve was a big part of my LGS meta. If you weren't running , you were instead playing Panic (but don't actually hang him) to host Steve, and for good reason. Recycling cards is powerful as the Runner; there's a reason why Levy AR is restricted. The only downside to his ability is that the Corp picks which card you get back while the other is RFG'd. One of the guys at my LGS would actually say "Sure Gamble or Sure Gamble?" when forcing the Corp to let him recycle a Sure Gamble. Steve is immensely powerful in any deck simply because you can recycle basically anything; it just depends on what the Corp deems to be more dangerous to let you keep. The only stipulation is that it's only for the first run on HQ each turn. Of course, Criminals know how to bypass your ice. The fact they can recycle any of their cards, especially those with powerful trash abilities, should be scary for any Corp player.

So why Steve over other another Criminal? Someone like Los or Nero would have a decent one-per-turn ability, but after a certain point, Los is as blank as an after-game-start Val, and Nero, in my opinion, is more for face-checking. Gabe has a decent ability of his own (and is a great teaching tool for Runners), but after a certain point, the credits aren't as useful as getting certain cards back, especially in the late game when you need another Sure Gamble or a previously trashed program or hardware. Of course, you could play my least favorite Runner ever, but I refuse to discuss her. Of course, you can only play Steve in the Eternal and Snapshot formats now. Considering how big he was at my LGS, I kind of hope Steve gets cycled back in sometime in the future.

(Uprising era)